How it all began…

7

A little more than 10 years ago I decided to study abroad. I wanted and applied to study in Paris and my Dad told me NO! So I switched to study abroad in Florence. At that point in my life I didn’t have a choice and I am not complaining! My Dad likes to remind me that it all worked out in the end… I get to “study” abroad this year in Paris 😉

10 years ago almost exactly to the day I left for London and then off to Siena a small town in Tuscany. My school sent us here for 3 weeks intensive language in Italian before moving to Florence. In Siena there is a square in the middle of the town called Piazza del Campo. My friends and I climbed the many stairs to the top for the breathtaking view of the town. It is here where I fell in love with Italy… My passion for Italy grew over the next couple months as I traveled throughout the country from the North to the South. I made great friends that semester and I am so grateful for the opportunity.

siena

It was after my semester abroad that I decided I wanted to do what I love (travel and take pictures) and find a way to make a living at it. 6 years almost exactly I opened my etsy shop. I would like to say the rest is history, but that would be way to easy! Its been a lot of hard work, sweat, and tears to get me where I am today. Looking forward to Paris in 2013 and THE BEST IS YET TO COME!!

7 thoughts on “How it all began…

  1. Sue Templin

    There’s a saying, “Nothing worthwhile is ever easy.” Best of luck to you, Rebecca! I’ve seen your hard work pay off in many ways. I don’t know if the best if yet to come, but what’s coming your way will be wonderful!

  2. silvia

    Hi Rebecca,

    I saw your work on Etsy and absolutely j’adore your Paris photos.

    I have recently started taking photos in my hometown of Melbourne Australia and would love to one day open up an Etsy shop of my daily travels but often find the prospect daunting…….

    Did you do any photography courses or did you get started by simply clicking away like I am doing???

    Thanks and keep up the amazing your……I am inspired ;)))

    1. Rebecca Plotnick Post author

      Hi Silvia,

      Thank you so much! I did film photography in high school which was almost 15 years ago when I first started. I feel like I started all over when I switched to digital about 10 years ago. I practiced for many years so keep clicking away! Good luck to you and let me know if you have any other questions 🙂

      Rebecca

Leave a Reply

Brownie Box

a collection of baking recipes

Clever & Pour

A SPECIALTY COFFEE EXPERIENCE

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

A Matter Of How You See It Photography

Flower, Nature, Macro & Fine Art Photography

HiP Paris Blog

HiP insider tips and insights on dining, shopping, culture, renting, and living in Paris, France & Italy from Erica Berman & her Haven in Paris - HiP Paris team.

the paris apartment

hoping we know we're living the dream

