Red Balloons in Paris – Part 1

5

The story behind the red balloons. My first trip to Paris this year I had the idea of putting red balloons around the city of Paris and photographing them. I was busy with visitors towards the last month of my visit and never got to do it. As I prepared for my last minute visit this October it was on my list!

Finding red balloons is not easy or inexpensive in Paris. I brought my own balloons from the States but needed to find helium. After a long walk through the 13th arrondisement with my friend Olivier I started to walk home towards the Seine. On my walk I stumbled upon a toy shop with balloons! My thought was now or never… so I purchased a few balloons. I was beaming with my red balloons walking through the city of Paris. Just a few feet out of the shop and one balloon goes POP! Then my decision to ride the metro or bus home was out the window. I was going to walk… all 7 kilometers.

On my way home the sun started to set. I thought first stop would be one of my favorite Paris bridges. Pont des Arts…

red balloons parisI woke up early to meet another photographer friend at the Trocadero at sunrise. Here we began a very full day of running around with red balloons.

red balloons paris red balloons paris red balloons paris red balloons parisparis red balloonsparis red balloonsparis red balloonsparis red balloonsWhile shooting this part we had a few gypsy girls circle us asking for our signature. After asking them to leave they attacked the balloons with their pens and popped one before running off!

paris red balloons red ballons paris red balloons paris paris red balloonsred balloons paris As the day went on the balloons popped one by one until there were none. There were a few places around the city that we didn’t get to so we decided to do it again! I will save those images for another post.

paris red balloonsThank you all for following my Paris adventure! I couldn’t have asked for a better month. I still have a lot more Autumn images from Paris to share with you.

5 thoughts on “Red Balloons in Paris – Part 1

  1. Pingback: The Red Balloon Part II | RL Photography

Leave a Reply

Brownie Box

a collection of baking recipes

Clever & Pour

A SPECIALTY COFFEE EXPERIENCE

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

A Matter Of How You See It Photography

Flower, Nature, Macro & Fine Art Photography

HiP Paris Blog

HiP insider tips and insights on dining, shopping, culture, renting, and living in Paris, France & Italy from Erica Berman & her Haven in Paris - HiP Paris team.

the paris apartment

hoping we know we're living the dream

