Paris time… chasing the light

19

My days have been filled lately with chasing the light. People always ask me what my favorite thing to do in Paris and I usually say walking. I walk for hours and hours discovering new parts of the city. But lately with this morning and evening light I have picked up a new activity… simply chasing the light. If you are wondering what exactly that is. I simply follow where the light is hitting the streets and buildings. It sounds easy but its all about timing.

_MG_6225 small

You see this light isn’t so easy. Paris likes to play hiding games with the sun and can be moody at times. The sun rises around 6:15 these days so that means very early morning strolls. But they are worth it!

_MG_7948

Then you also have the afternoon light which is so lovely when you find a hidden courtyard in St Germain de pres.

_MG_9112

Just as the sun begins to set you can find the light hitting the buildings just right. Last night I found myself chasing the light which sun sets around 9:15. It makes for very long days but when the right is just right you can’t go wrong in Paris.

_MG_9022

19 thoughts on “Paris time… chasing the light

  1. snowsomewhere

    Beautiful photos, love the light. I used to live in Paris a while back, and my favorite thing was walking, too. I’d walk everywhere, day and night πŸ™‚ Unfortunately, I didn’t have a good camera back then. Enjoyed your photos!

  2. The Snap Shot Siren

    Great photos! I love when you said “It sounds easy, but it’s all about the timing” when referring to the light. It is so true but you do an amazing job at capturing the light in all its beauty. I’m new to photography and blogging and am inspired by your work.

Leave a Reply

Brownie Box

a collection of baking recipes

Clever & Pour

A SPECIALTY COFFEE EXPERIENCE

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

A Matter Of How You See It Photography

Flower, Nature, Macro & Fine Art Photography

HiP Paris Blog

HiP insider tips and insights on dining, shopping, culture, renting, and living in Paris, France & Italy from Erica Berman & her Haven in Paris - HiP Paris team.

the paris apartment

hoping we know we're living the dream

