HOME

9

home

Home. A four letter word I am not used to. Three years ago I packed up my Chicago apt to move to paris for three months. I put all my belongings in storage knowing that I did not want to return the same person. I was looking for change. Once I arrived in Paris in the freezing cold month of February I knew I wanted to stay longer. Back and forth between the states and paris I went moving more times that I care to admit. Without a visa I couldn’t stay put long term. Three months turned into three years of a nomadic life. The thing is I wouldn’t change a thing. My life has changed in so many ways I am still trying to sort everything all in my head. So here I am in Chicago three years later. A different person than when I left. My storage unit filled with belongings that are just now “things” Instead of moving them into my new home I gave away everything and threw away the key. A new beginning starts now.

9 thoughts on “HOME

  1. She Sells Sea Shells

    I feel like sometimes you just need to travel in order to understand the definition of “home” and in what places home is waiting for you. It’ll take a while to sort things out, but you’re on the right track! πŸ™‚ Love you story.

    lizsellshells.com

  2. katiegoring

    This post is really inspiring, so many people are afraid of change and here’s you looking for it, I admire you for that. Good luck on the rest of your journey!

Leave a Reply

Brownie Box

a collection of baking recipes

Clever & Pour

A SPECIALTY COFFEE EXPERIENCE

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

A Matter Of How You See It Photography

Flower, Nature, Macro & Fine Art Photography

HiP Paris Blog

HiP insider tips and insights on dining, shopping, culture, renting, and living in Paris, France & Italy from Erica Berman & her Haven in Paris - HiP Paris team.

the paris apartment

hoping we know we're living the dream

